Wednesday, October 16, 2013

Three-Way Race for PBA 2012-2013 Season MVP

The annual PBA awards is set to take place this Friday, October 18, right before tip-off for Game 4 of the ongoing finals series between Petron Blaze Boosters and San Mig Coffee Mixers for the 2013 PBA Governor's Cup. This year has been full of controversy and lots of exciting actions with it being the first time in several years wherein there are three different teams winning the championship crown at the end of three conferences. Talk N Text already holds the All-Filipino Cup title, then Alaska Aces taking home the Commissioner's Cup crown.

Hence, it is a tight race for the MVP title this year with several players stepping up their game for a well contested season. But three players emerge on top of the race, which unsurprisingly, are also three of the players who have won the Best Player of the Conference awards for the past three conferences. These players are namely Arwind Santos of the Petron Blaze Boosters, LA Tenorio of Barangay Ginebra, and Jason Castro of Talk N Text Tropang Texters. All of the three candidates are gunning for their first MVP win.

Aside from the three top candidates, superstar rookie Calvin Abueva was previously pegged as a potential candicate for MVP while he is also in the running for a Rookie of the Year award. However, Arwind Santos edged him out of the race especially since the former is the current statistical leader. Thus, Calvin Abueva won't be realizing the hopes of many for him to repeat Benjie Paras' unique feat in 1989 wherein he won the Rookie of the Year and Most Valuable Player awards at the same year.

Speaking of the Rookie of the Year award, Abueva is joined by Petron's June Mar Fajardo as leaders for the race, although the former has a slight edge in the statistical points.

Who do you think will win the MVP race?

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...